-2.1 C
New York City
Sunday, May 26, 2024
Home Motor Sports Hamilton, Rosberg Warm up for Festival of Speed 2016

Hamilton, Rosberg Warm up for Festival of Speed 2016

[dropcap]M[/dropcap]Mercedes-Benz Grand Prix drivers Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg have confirmed they will be among the glittering line-up of star drivers attending the world’s largest motoring garden party, now less than two weeks away.

For the first time, the sell-out Festival of Speed crowd will be able to see (and hear) one of the new-generation turbo F1 cars, as the Mercedes pair take to the famous Goodwood Hill in a 2014 Mercedes F1 W05 Hybrid, with Hamilton, who drove it to World Championship victory in 2014, taking the wheel on Saturday, and Grand Prix winner Rosberg on Sunday.

Nico Rosberg at the Goodwood Festival of Speed
Nico Rosberg at the Goodwood Festival of Speed

Nico Rosberg currently leads the 2016 Formula 1 season by 24 points over his team-mate and three-time Formula 1 Champion Lewis Hamilton, and both will be coming fresh from the European Grand Prix at Baku, Azerbaijan.
Rosberg tweeted “See you on Sunday at Goodwood” to fans this week.
Hamilton and Rosberg will be part of a stellar line-up, that includes famous names from all branches of motorsport.
Drivers and riders attending this year (subject to change):

  • Adam Morgan BTCC race winner
  • Alain Menu Double BTCC champion
  • Alessandro Zanardi Two-time CART champion and Paralympic cycling gold medallist
  • Alex Wurz Le Mans winner and former F1 driver
  • Andrew Jordan 2013 BTCC champion
  • Bobby Labonte 2000 NASCAR Winston Cup champion
  • Brian Johnson Legendary AC/DC singer
  • Sir Chris Hoy Multiple Olympic cycling champion and now Le Mans driver
  • Carl Fogarty World Superbike Royalty
  • Colin Edwards Two-time World Superbike Champion
  • David Brabham Le Mans winner and ex-F1 racer
  • Derek “Buttsy” Butler Drift star with his own F1 car!
  • Derek Bell Five-time Le Mans winner
  • Emerson Fittipaldi Two-time F1 World Champion and double Indy 500 winner
  • Frank Biela Five-time Le Mans winner and 1996 BTCC champion
  • Freddie Spencer Three-time motorcycle GP world champion
  • Gerhard Berger Ten-time Grand Prix winner
  • Giacomo Agostini 15-time Motorcycle World Champion
  • Gordon Shedden Reigning BTCC champion
  • Gordon Sheddon Two-time BTCC champion
  • Hans-Joachim Stuck Touring car legend and double Le Mans winner
  • Sir Jackie Stewart Three-time F1 World Champion
  • James Martin TV chef and classic car enthusiast
  • Jari Matti Latvala WRC front-runner
  • Jason Plato Two-time BTCC winner and TV presenter
  • Jean Ragnotti Two-time Monte Carlo Rally winner
  • Jean-Pierre Jabouille The first driver to win a Grand Prix in a turbocharged car
  • Jenson Button 2009 Formula 1 World Champion
  • Jochen Mass F1 and Le Mans winner and Goodwood House Captain
  • John McGuinness Multiple IoM TT winner
  • John Surtees World Champion on two wheels and four
  • Johnny Cecotto Motorcycle Grand Prix World Champion
  • Karun Chandhok Former F1 driver
  • Kelvin Fletcher BTCC driver and Emmerdale Star
  • Ken Block Gymkhana star and WRX front-runner
  • Kenny Brack 1999 Indy 500 winner drives on the hill
  • Liam Doran World Rallycross front-runner
  • Lorina McLaughlin Regular winner of ‘Fastest Lady’ prize at Festival
  • Mad Mike Whiddett Star of the drifting world
  • Mark Higgins British Rally champion and IoM Record Holder drives on the hill
  • Martin Brundle Le Mans winner and F1 star
  • Matt Neal Three-time BTCC champion
  • Mike Conway Indy Car race winner
  • Mike Skinner 1995 NASCAR Truck champion
  • Nick Mason Pink Floyd drummer
  • Nicky Hayden MotoGP Champion
  • Nico Hulkenberg F1 star and Le Mans winner
  • Nyck de Vries McLaren development driver
  • Olly Clark Last year’s Festival of Speed shoot-out winner
  • Pat Doran Four-time British Rallycross champion
  • Patrick Friesacher Will be smoking in his Toyata Camry
  • Réné Arnoux Seven-time F1 GP winner
  • Riccardo Patrese Six-time Grand Prix winner
  • Richard Childress Legendary NASCAR team owner
  • Ricky Carmichael The ‘greatest of all time’ in motocross
  • Sam Tordoff BTCC race winner
  • Sammy Miller Two-time European Trials Champion
  • Steve Soper Touring car legend
  • Sir Stirling Moss Racing legend and “Mr Goodwood”
  • Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren reserve driver
  • Troy Bayliss World Superbike champion to ride Ducati GP3
  • Troy Corser World Superbike Champion to ride BMW Kaczor R50S

Most Popular

Osanipin Bags Courageous Leadership Award, Commends President Tinubu on CNG Adoption

The Director General National Automotive Design and Development Council (NADDC) Mr Oluwemimo Joseph Osanipin has been conferred with "Courageous Leadership Award" in view of...

Nigeria to Begin Emission Test on Imported Vehicles

The Federal Government of Nigeria has concluded plans to start conducting emission tests on vehicles imported into the country. Dr Yakubu Baba, Registrar, Environmental Health...

Global Oil Prices Fall For Fourth Consecutive Session

Oil prices fell for a fourth consecutive session on Thursday and settled at multi-month lows as the prospect of higher-for-longer U.S. interest rates raised...

Kia Unveils Compact Electric SUV with Big Ambitions

Kia Corp launched on Thursday the company's first compact electric sports utility vehicle built on its dedicated EV platform, betting it can win over buyers...