-2.1 C
New York City
Thursday, December 8, 2022
Home Road Safety FRSC Institutes Anti-Bribery Awards

FRSC Institutes Anti-Bribery Awards

By:FRANK BOYEDE (Senior Correspondent)

The Federal Road Safety Commission has instituted a quarterly award, to compensate field officers, who refuse to accept bribe from motorists. Mr. Nseobong Akpabio, Assistant Corp Marshal, Zonal Commanding Officer, FRSC, Lagos State Command, disclosed this to Motoring World in a telephone interview on Saturday.

According to him, the award, next of which holds on 14th of June 2016, is given quarterly to patrol teams, whose officers, succeed in issuing fine tickets to motorists, who attempt to bribe them.

Akpabio“I have to encourage my personnel to do their job professionally,” said Akpabio. “For if you collect bribe, you are dismissed.

“But the question came to me: What if my personnel refuses bribery? Shouldn’t there be a way of celebrating them? So we thought of initiating an award for patrol team, who, during patrol, refuse bribe from motorists and, being an offence, issue fine tickets to such erring motorists. That was how the quarterly award came into being.

“And I can tell you, it has yielded positive results. My personnel now realize that there is compensation for doing their job professionally, just as there is punishment for going against laid down rules.”

Akpabio, therefore, appealed to motorists to always have it in mind that whatever FRSC is doing is to ensure that they are not only safe, but do not constitute danger to other road users.

“And in the process of carrying out our duties,” he warned, “we will not tolerate any form of motoring indiscipline, not matter how highly placed the culprit might be.

“Even if you are driving a new vehicle on bad or good road, it is the attitude of the driver that most of the time leads to occurrence of road accidents.”

Most Popular

Volkswagen CEO to Present Software ‘Reality Check’ To Board

Volkswagen's (VOWG_p.DE) CEO will outline a new software and vehicle platform strategy to the carmaker's supervisory board on Dec. 15 as he tries to...

Toyota Set for 2023 Dakar Rally With Three-Car Team

TOYOTA GAZOO Racing is set to take on the 2023 Dakar Rally with a three-car team early in January. The defending champions, Nasser Al-Attiyah and...

New Fully Electric Volvo C40 Recharge Heads for South Africa

The new fully electric C40 Recharge is scheduled to join Southern Africa’s range of electrified vehicles in the first half of 2023. Offering many of...

Hyundai IONIQ 5 Wins Car of the Year Award

The 2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5 has earned Esquire’s Car of the Year this month, adding another coveted award to its growing trophy case. Every year, Esquire editors drive and...
%d bloggers like this: