-2.1 C
New York City
Thursday, February 22, 2024
Home Motor Sports Hyundai Announces 2024 Racing Program

Hyundai Announces 2024 Racing Program

Hyundai is set to field seven Hyundai Elantra N TCR entries in the 2024 IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge (IMPC) season in pursuit of a fifth-consecutive Manufacturers’ Championship title.

Hyundai will be represented by reigning IMPC Team Champions Bryan Herta Autosport (BHA) with four race cars, as well as Deily Motorsports with one entry and Victor Gonzalez Racing with two.

Hyundai’s racing effort in the 2024 season will see the return of many veteran drivers as well as the introduction of exciting new talent. The 2024 IMPC season kicks off with testing sessions at the Roar Before the Rolex 24 weekend, Jan.19-21, 2024, at Daytona International Speedway followed by the first round of the schedule with the BMW M Endurance Challenge at DAYTONA on Jan. 26, 2024.

Hyundai Hope On Wheels
Hyundai Hope On Wheels donated $100 for every lap a Hyundai vehicle was in the lead during the final two races of the 2023 season. This raised nearly $20,000 to support pediatric cancer research. In 2024, Hyundai Hope On Wheels has pledged to donate $100 for every lap a Hyundai Elantra N TCR is in the lead during every race of the season.

The Lineup

  • Defending Champions Harry Gottsacker and Robert Wickens return to pilot the No. 33 Hyundai Elantra N TCR
  • Mark Wilkins and Mason Filippi will once again partner to pilot the No. 98 Hyundai Elantra N TCR
  • Bryson Morris will make his full season debut with BHA alongside Taylor Hagler in the No. 77 Hyundai Elantra N TCR
  • Newcomers Denis Dupont and Preston Brown will make their debut for BHA in the No. 76 Hyundai Elantra N TCR alongside third driver Nick Looijmans
  • Jacob Deily and Jordan Wiseley will pilot the No. 70 Hyundai Elantra N TCR racing for Deily Motorsports
  • Victor Gonzalez and Tyler Gonzalez will pilot the No. 99 Hyundai Elantra N TCR for Victor Gonzalez Racing
  • Clayton Williams and Colton Reynolds will also partner for Victor Gonzalez Racing, driving the No. 80 Hyundai Elantra N TCR

As they enter the 2024 season, Mason Filippi and Mark Wilkins have combined for 17 IMPC victories, with Wilkins having won a race in every season with BHA. Mark Wilkins, Taylor Hagler, Harry Gottsacker and Robert Wickens all bring previous IMPC Championships to the table, with Mason Filippi also having finished second in two IMPC seasons (2019, 2023). Hyundai newcomers Denis Dupont and Preston Brown bring their extensive prior racing experience piloting the Audi RS3 to round out the Bryan Herta stable.

After enjoying a Championship-winning 2023 season alongside Harry Gottsacker in the No. 33 Hyundai Elantra N TCR, Robert Wickens will look to defend his title with the same hand controls developed by BHA. Gottsacker and Wickens will seek to build on their successful season as they enter their second year as a driver pair. The drivers earned seven second-place finishes in ten races last season, setting an IMPC record. Gottsacker is entering his sixth season with BHA. He has recorded five series victories since joining the team in 2019 and holds the series record for pole positions (7).

For Wickens, 2024 will be his third season racing for Hyundai. Wickens made his racing debut with hand controls driving a Hyundai in 2021, when he returned to competition after suffering devastating injuries sustained in a 2018 IndyCar accident.

It took Wickens just two years to become the first driver in North America to win a professional title with hand controls. He’s tallied two victories and eight podiums using his hands to control the accelerator, brakes, and transmission.

©Copyright MOTORING WORLD INTERNATIONAL. All rights reserved. Materials, photographs, illustrations and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior written permission from Motoring World International

Contact[email protected]




Most Popular

Our Mandate is to Make Chery Number One Vehicle in Nigeria-Joseph Omokhapue, Sales Director, Carloha

Another Motor Show held in Lagos last weekend. A bit different from the usual, 2024 Lagos Motor Show featured, this time around, classic and...

Carloha Shines with Chery at Lagos Motor Show

Amidst exhilaration and funfare, Carloha Nigeria, the nation’s authorized dealer of Chery vehicles, put up a brilliant display of the brand’s line of vehicles...

African Auto Makers Make Case for Nigeria’s Auto Policy, as VW Pledges to Return

OPEYEMI OLOTU African Automotive Manufacturers have assured Nigerian government of their readiness to invest in the country once the nation’s National Automobile Industry Development Plan...