-2.1 C
New York City
Sunday, September 24, 2023
Home Motor Sports Rally Finland Preview: Toyota Gazoo Racing's Trio of Finns Ready to Fly...

Rally Finland Preview: Toyota Gazoo Racing’s Trio of Finns Ready to Fly At Home

[dropcap]T[/dropcap]he TOYOTA GAZOO Racing World Rally Team is ready to take on the fastest event of the season, Rally Finland (July 27-30), with its trio of home-grown drivers: Jari-Matti Latvala, Juho Hänninen and Esapekka Lappi.

Car 10 (Jari-Matti Latvala, Miikka Anttila)

Rally Finland is famous for its fast gravel stages through forests, featuring large jumps and numerous crests. Many of these are located on corners, making the positioning of the car for the perfect take-off crucial to carrying speed through the bend. The stages are mostly wide with a smooth and compact gravel surface that contributes to the rapid pace.

Jyväskylä hosts the service park and the opening Thursday-night Harju street stage, which is run again at the end of a very long day on Friday that consists of 12 stages. There are another eight stages on Saturday, including two runs over the most famous test of all, Ouninpohja. Four more stages round out the action on Sunday, with the Oittila Power Stage set to begin at 13:18 local time.

As well as the drivers, Rally Finland is a home event for team principal Tommi Mäkinen, and one that he won four times during his career behind the wheel. Latvala has the opportunity to match that achievement, having already claimed victory in 2010, 2014 and 2015. Hänninen finished in the top six on his last two attempts in 2014 and 2015, while Esapekka Lappi has come eighth overall in the past two years while also dominating the WRC2 category. With the team based very close to Jyväskylä, the Yaris WRC has completed plenty of development running on local roads as well as specific pre-event testing.

The statistics (Rally Finland)

Year Jari-Matti Latvala Juho Hänninen Esapekka Lappi
2016 2 8
2015 1 6 8
2014 1 6
2013 17 32 31
2012 3 25
2011 2 10 32

2017 FIA World Rally Championship for drivers after round eight

  1. Miikka Anttila and Jari-Matti Latvala

    Kaj Lindström and Juho Hänninen

    Sebastien Ogier160

  2. Thierry Neuville149
  3. Jari-Matti Latvala112
  4. Ott Tanak108
  5. Dani Sordo82
  6. Elfyn Evans57
  7. Hayden Paddon51
  8. Craig Breen43
  9. Juho Hänninen30
  10. Kris Meeke27
  11. Esapekka Lappi20

2017 FIA World Rally Championship for manufacturers after round eight

  1. M-Sport World Rally Team259
  2. Hyundai Motorsport237
  3. TOYOTA GAZOO Racing WRT153
  4. Citroen Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team117


Most Popular

Colour Blind Visitors Get Special Glasses at Mercedes-Benz Museum

Automotive history is diverse and colourful. This is also to be understood quite literally, as the fascinating colours, shades and contrasts in the Mercedes-Benz...

Bid for 2030 World Expo: Hyundai Showcases Art Cars in New York

Towards supporting the South Korean city of Busan’s bid to host the 2030 World Expo, Hyundai Motor Group is planning exhibition and road tour...

Nigeria’s Oil Revenue Rises by N188.71b

Nigeria’s earnings from crude oil sales increased by N188.7 billion in August 2023 due to the rise in the production of the product by...

Oil Prices Extend Gains toward $95 on Tight Supply

Global oil benchmark Brent crude neared $95 a barrel on Monday, with investors focused on the prospect of a widening supply deficit in the...
%d bloggers like this: