Motor Sports Legends to Receive Honours at Motoring Journalists’ Annual Dinner

A pair of up-and-coming British motorsport stars of the future and a giant of Formula One are to be recognized at the Guild of Motoring Writers’ Annual Dinner and Awards later this month.

Sir Frank Williams, who has to date masterminded seven drivers’ world championships, nine constructors’ championships and notched up a total of 113 Grand Prix wins, is to be recognized for his lifetime’s contribution to motorsport with the President’s Trophy.

Presented by Guild President Nick Mason, Sir Frank follows another motorsport and automotive legend,

Sir Frank Williams

2016 recipient Gordon Murray – and Williams Grand Prix Engineering co-founder Patrick Head has also won the President’s Trophy, in 2012.

Also to be presented will be the Guild’s Driver and Rider of the Year honours. Past winners have included Sir Stirling Moss, Graham Hill, Nigel Mansell, Jenson Button, Lewis Hamilton, Carl Fogarty, Mike Hawthorn, Joey Dunlop and James Toseland.

Since 2009, both awards have been presented to a young British competitor who, in the opinion of a panel of judges, has shown such skill, courage, initiative or endurance, or a combination of these qualities, to single them out.

This year, the Rider of the Year title is going to KTM Endurance rider Sam Sunderland, the first Briton to win the gruelling Dakar Rally. Sunderland, who has come back from serious injury three times in his short career, secured victory on the 2017 event, winning by a substantial 32 minutes from his nearest competitor.

Sam Sunderland

George Russell

At 19, one of the youngest ever winners of the Driver of the Year accolade is George Russell. He has progressed swiftly through the ranks of British and European karting (on his way beating the likes of current F1 drivers Max Verstappen and Esteban Ocon) to win this year’s GP3 Series with two races to spare. He is set to make his F1 practice debut with Force India at the Brazilian Grand Prix this weekend.

These awards will be presented, along with numerous awards for motoring and motorsport journalism, at the Guild of Motoring Writers’ Annual Dinner and Awards on Thursday 30 November at the Royal Automobile Club, Pall Mall, London.

Tickets, priced at £90, are still available for the black-tie event (which is for automotive journalists and PRs), and include a festive three-course meal.


About Motoring World

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Search here

error: Content is protected !!