Land Rover Discovery Clinches Car of the Year Award

…As McLaren 720S Emerges Sportscar of the Year

…Also See List of category Winners 

LAND ROVER’s latest Discovery has been crowned 2017 Scottish Car of the Year. The all-new SUV triumphed in its segment to be named best-in-class by the Association of Scottish Motoring Writers (ASMW) and then fought off tough competition from other category winners to take the top title.

It’s the third time a Land Rover has emerged victorious at the respected industry awards; the previous Discovery 4 model wowed judges following its debut in 2009 and the Range Rover Evoque enjoyed success in 2011.

Presenting the accolade at Edinburgh’s Dalmahoy Hotel and Country Club, Stephen Park, President of the Association of Scottish Motoring Writers, said: “Once again, the judging process was a difficult one due to the high standard of new models which have been launched in the last 12 months. However, from the moment ASMW members first drove the fifth generation Discovery they were in no doubt that it’s one exceptional vehicle.

“Indeed, it’s the breadth of ability which makes the Discovery so special. This is a 4×4 which remains true to Land Rover’s traditional spirit of adventure – it really can climb mountains and ford streams – while also being brilliant around town, on country roads and motorways.

“We were particularly impressed by the mix of seven seater practicality coupled with luxury car refinement and incredible capability in both on and off-road situations.”

Accepting the award, Jeremy Hicks, Managing Director, Jaguar Land Rover UK said: “We are delighted to be accepting this award tonight. Discovery and Scotland are a perfect match come whatever the weather, whatever the terrain.

“I am also delighted to announce that in recognition of this award and the support of the Scottish people over the years, Land Rover will be providing the ASMW’s chosen charity, Scotland’s Charity Air Ambulance (SCAA) with a Discovery for six months to see them through the winter. We are honoured to be supporting such a fundamental and worthy cause.”

The Scottish Car of the Year (SCOTY) awards also delivered particularly impressive results for Ford, Mazda, Suzuki and Skoda.

Not only did a new version of an old favourite, the Fiesta, take the best Supermini title but an evolution of last year’s top Hot Hatch, the Focus RS Mountune, ensured sporting success for Ford again in 2017.

Mazda also had cause for celebration, with the MX-5 RF and CX-5 named best Drop Top and Crossover respectively.

McLaren 720S: Sportscar of the Year 2017

Suzuki, meanwhile, received recognition for its two newest models. Retro charm and clever interior packaging put the Ignis at the top of the Compact pedestal while the Boosterjet-powered Swift won the special Eco prize.

Skoda’s Kodiaq, a runner-up in the race for the overall SCOTY title, won the Seven Seater category while the Yeti won the Used car section.

Elsewhere, Vauxhall displayed a return to form in the Family category with the Insignia Grand Sport winning by a comfortable margin.

Following on from last year, when the V90 was named best Estate car and overall winner, the addition of four-wheel-drive and extra ground clearance enabled Volvo to continue its winning form with the V90 Cross Country.

In the Executive arena, BMW’s outstanding new 5 Series proved unbeatable while sister brand MINI scooped the new Compact Crossover category with the new Countryman model.

One of the most diverse categories is the Sports one and British design and engineering know-how put the sensational McLaren 720S supercar on the podium.

Finally, the special Design and Innovation gong went to DS Automobiles for launching the UK’s first contactless payment car key.

ASMW President Stephen Park added: “Land Rover may have deservedly won the top prize with its multi-talented Discovery – a car that’s hugely relevant to the unique demands of the Scottish marketplace – but our category winners demonstrate the sheer scale of new car talent available across all market segments.”

In a related development, McLaren 720S beat strong competition to win the Sportscar of the Year 2017 at the event. The car, unveiled at the 2017 International Geneva Motor Show, is the first model in the second-generation Super Series range and has been extensively praised for its exhilarating driving experience combined with unparalleled innovation and state-of-the-art British engineering.

Stephen Park, President of the Association of Scottish Motoring Writers, commented: “In no segment is the price span as broad as this one but this year one brand returns to the winner’s board and deservedly so. In terms of innovation, technology and exhilaration, this is a sportscar like no other and a huge testament to British design and engineering know-how.”

Commenting on the awards, David Gilbert, Managing Director – Europe at McLaren Automotive said: “The McLaren 720S is the heart of the McLaren brand and for it to be named Sportscar of the Year 2017 is a great honour. The second-generation Super Series offers the widest breadth of ability of any McLaren, combined with a stunning new interpretation of our design language and a wealth of luxury features to satisfy the most demanding customers. I’d also like to take this opportunity to congratulate the team back in Woking for delivering a world-class product, as well as thank our retail partner, McLaren Glasgow, for their continuous support.”

This recognition marks a second consecutive year of success for the McLaren brand at the Scottish Car of the Year Awards, the McLaren 570S having claimed the prestigious Design and Innovation Award in 2016. The McLaren 720S, which is priced from £208,600, is available to purchase in Scotland from McLaren Glasgow.

Compact: Suzuki Ignis; Supermini: Ford Fiesta; Family: Vauxhall Insignia Grand Sport: Drop Top: Mazda MX-5 RF; Executive: BMW 5 Series; Estate: Volvo V90 Cross Country; Compact Crossover: MINI Countryman; Crossover: Mazda CX-5; SUV: Land Rover Discovery; Hot Hatch: Ford Focus RS Mountune; Sports: McLaren 720S; Seven Seater: Skoda Kodiaq; Eco: Suzuki Swift Boosterjet; Used: Skoda Yeti; Design & Innovation: DS Automobiles Contactless Payment Car Key.

SCOTY Hall of Fame
1998: Ford Focus; 1999: Jaguar S-Type; 2000: Audi A2; 2001: Jaguar X-Type; 2002: Mazda6; 2003: Volvo XC90; 2004: Peugeot 407; 2005: BMW 3 Series; 2006: Jaguar XK; 2007: Ford Mondeo; 2008: Ford Fiesta; 2009: Land Rover Discovery 4; 2010: Kia Sportage; 2011: Range Rover Evoque; 2012: Dacia Duster; 2013: Volkswagen Golf; 2014: Hyundai i10; 2015: Vauxhall Astra; 2016: Volvo V90; 2017 Land Rover Discovery.


About Motoring World

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Search here

error: Content is protected !!